Burton Albion
Manchester City
Leg 2Aggregate: 0 - 10
Game Details

Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohamed Salah, Luka Modric make UEFA Player of the Year shortlist

After nine seasons with Real Madrid, Cristiano Ronaldo embarks on his new challenge with Juventus against Chievo Verona.

UEFA have announced their final shortlists for the Men's and Women's Player of the Year awards, with Lionel Messi missing the cut.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Mohamed Salah make the final three-man list for the men's award, with Wolfsburg's Pernille Harder and Lyon duo Ada Hegerberg and Amandine Henry are up for the women's award.

Ronaldo and Modric won the Champions League for Real Madrid against Salah's Liverpool in the final, while Hegerberg and Henry scored against Harder's Wolfsburg in Lyon's triumph in the Women's Champions League.

The 2016-17 men's award was won by Ronaldo, who finished ahead of Messi and Gianluigi Buffon.

Ronaldo has been in the final three for the award for every year since its inception in 2010, while this is the third time Messi has missed the final three. He has also won the award on three occasions compared to Messi's two.

The only other recipients of the award apart from Ronaldo and Messi are Andres Iniesta and Franck Ribery, who won the 2011-12 and 2012-13 awards respectively.

Of the three finalists for the women's award, only Hegerberg has won before, claiming the title in 2015-16.

The Norway international scored 15 goals in Lyon's Champions League winning campaign last season.

The winners of the awards will be announced during the 2018-19 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on Aug. 30


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.