Shakhtar's Facundo Ferreyra says sorry for shoving ball boy vs. Roma
Shakhtar Donetsk forward Facundo Ferreyra has apologised after pushing a ball boy over advertising boards during Roma's Champions League win over his side on Tuesday.
Ferreyra raced to retrieve the ball with Shakhtar needing to equalise to reach the quarterfinals and pushed the ball boy, sparking clashes between players.
The forward posted his apology in on Instagram post in which he also congratulated Roma for reaching the quarterfinals.
"At the same time, I want to express my apologies for my reaction with a ball boy during last night's match," he wrote.
"I had the chance to personally say sorry to them after the game but I'd like to ask for an extensive apologize (sic) to "tutti i giallorossi" and I wish all the best to you in this Champions League."
The fact that Ferreyra was booked means no further action against him is expected.
Quiero felicitar a todos en AS Roma por la merecida clasificación a cuartos de final de la UEFA Champions League. Al mismo tiempo, quiero expresar mis disculpas por mi reacción con el ball-boy durante el partido de anoche. Tuve la oportunidad de disculparme personalmente con ellos al finalizar el encuentro pero quisiera hacerlo extensivo a "tutti i giallorossi" y desearles mucha suerte en la Champions League. I'd like to congratulate everyone in AS Roma for the deserved qualification to quarter-final stage in UEFA Champions League. At the same time I want to express my apologies for my reaction with a ball-boy during last night's match. I had the chance to personally say sorry to them after the game but I'd like to ask for an extensive apologize to "tutti i giallorossi" and I wish all the best to you in this Champions League.
That would see him escape the three-game ban Chelsea's Eden Hazard got after being sent off for kicking a ball boy during a League Cup tie at Swansea in 2013.
Roma vice-captain Alessandro Florenzi said he felt Ferreyra had got off lightly.
"It's only normal that the nerves come to the surface, but pushing a ball boy is not on -- he was just doing his job," he told Roma TV. "The referee saw it, but I'm sure he could have done more [than just book him].
"We'll take it as it is, though, and not think about these things because we need to think about going through.
"Maybe the problem was the referee didn't see it, but his two assistants should have."
Ben Gladwell reports on Serie A, the Italian national team and the Bundesliga for ESPN FC, UEFA and the Press Association. @UEFAcomBenG.