Bayern Munich
12:00 PM UTC
Leg 1
Game Details
12:00 PM UTC
Leg 1
Game Details
 By Eric Gomez

Jonathan Orozco is leading Santos toward a title from between the posts

TORREON, Mexico -- Jonathan Orozco is used to being overlooked. That doesn't mean he's happy about it. Eighteen months ago, the Monterrey native was displaced from his boyhood team, Rayados, when then-manager Antonio Mohamed signed goalkeeper Hugo Gonzalez from Club America.

After 20 years with the club, two league titles, three CONCACAF Champions' League wins and two Best Goalkeeper of the Year awards in Liga MX, the 32-year-old Orozco was shipped off to Santos Laguna before the 2017 season where...

 By Eric Gomez

Alfredo Talavera's injury leaves Mexico's backup keeper job wide open

Much like rest of the world, Herculez Gomez and Sebastian Salazar are split over Juan Carlos Osorio's future with Mexico.
Herculez Gomez explains why criticism of Juan Carlos Osorio is harsh after Mexico's elimination in the Gold Cup semifinals.

Alfredo Talavera will be out at least six months after suffering major ligament damage in his knee last Sunday against León. The Toluca goalkeeper will be unavailable until 2018 and so will miss the rest of the Apertura 2017 tournament, as well as Mexico's remaining World Cup qualifiers.

Under Juan Carlos Osorio, El Tri had been using Talavera alternately as the starter or the backup for Standard Liege goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa and so a spot is open for several contenders looking to impress...

 By Nayib Moran

Oscar Perez, Jonathan Orozco to steal the spotlight in Liga MX's Gran Final

Oscar Perez
Pachuca keeper Oscar Perez, 43, has been in excellent form during the Liguilla.

MEXICO CITY -- During this Liguilla edition, Oscar "Conejo" Perez became the oldest footballer to play in a playoff match at 43-years-old and three months.

He's taken part in five finals but was only able to win one of them in the 1997 Invierno with Cruz Azul. Since then, Perez and Cruz Azul haven't lifted a league title.

Meanwhile, Monterrey's Jonathan Orozco has participated in four finals and has won two of them in the 2010 Apertura and 2009 Apertura. In the following days, Perez and Orozco will...