Previous
Orlando City SC
FC Cincinnati
5
1
FT
Game Details
New York Red Bulls
Atlanta United FC
0
0
LIVE 46'
Game Details
FC Dallas
LAFC
4:30 PM UTC
Game Details
LA Galaxy
Colorado Rapids
5:00 PM UTC
Game Details
Next
ESPN FC  By ESPN

When does the January transfer window close in Premier League, La Liga, Serie A, etc

Mark Ogden joins the panel to answer your tweets on Liverpool's FA Cup defeat, Man United's transfer targets, bold predictions for 2019 and more.

Unlike the summer transfer window, which has a more staggered transfer deadline, in Europe most leagues close on Jan. 31 -- but at different points throughout the day.

In all cases, clubs are still able to sign players as free agents after the deadline, and as long as they are not officially attached to any club when the window closes on Jan. 31. 

Premier League transfer deadline

The deadline is at 11 p.m. GMT (6 p.m. ET) on Thursday, Jan. 31. The EFL, including the Championship, will also have the same deadline. 

La Liga transfer deadline

The window will close as usual at 11.59 p.m. CET (6.59 p.m. ET) on Jan. 31

Christian Pulisic's move to Chelsea is one filled with great potential but not one without major risk.
Christian Pulisic has joined Chelsea, but been loaned back to Borussia Dortmund until the summer.

Serie A transfer deadline

Bizarrely, Italian football had originally planned to run a truncated winter window from Thursday, Jan. 3 to Friday, Jan. 18 at 8 p.m. CET. It would appear sense was seen last month, however, with the deadline now restored to Jan. 31 at 8 p.m. CET (3 p.m. ET).

Bundesliga transfer deadline

German clubs have until 6 p.m. CET (1 p.m. ET) on Jan. 31. Clubs can still sell or loan players to leagues where the window is still open for the remainder of the day.

Ligue 1 transfer deadline

Ligue 1 will operate exactly the same as La Liga, with the transfer deadline at 11.59 p.m. CET (6.59 p.m. ET) on Jan. 31 and the winter window spanning January.

Selected other deadlines

Jan. 31: Australia, Belgium, Mexico, Netherlands, Scotland 
Feb. 2: Portugal
Feb 22: Russia
Feb. 28: China
Mar. 3: Ukraine

The Major League Soccer transfer widow closes on May 7.

MORE:

All transfers

Transfer Talk blog

Comments

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on ESPN's media platforms. Learn more.